WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

Live webcast via Zoom

  Ticket Prices

Ticket Price
General Ticket $0

Registration is essential: please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.



Join us for a conversation with one of Britain’s most influential journalists and commentators, hosted by Lowy Institute Executive Director Michael Fullilove. The Economist is a truly global newspaper and this conversation will range across the entire globe: What have we learned from the pandemic about the state of globalisation? Has the US-China rivalry now become a fully fledged cold war? Is America too wounded to be the “leader of the free world”?

Zanny Minton Beddoes is the Editor-in-Chief of The Economist. Previously she was the business affairs editor, economics editor and The Economist’s emerging-markets correspondent. Ms Minton Beddoes joined the newspaper in 1994 after spending two years as an economist at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), where she worked on macroeconomic adjustment programs in Africa and the transition economies of Eastern Europe. Before joining the IMF, she worked as an adviser to the minister of finance in Poland.

Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on Australian and US foreign policy in publications including The New York Times, Financial Times, The Atlantic and Foreign Affairs, as well as in the Australian press. Dr Fullilove is the author of Rendezvous with Destiny: How Franklin D. Roosevelt and Five Extraordinary Men Took America into the War and into the World (Penguin). 


Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Tuesday, 30 June | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEST
TOKYO: Tuesday, 30 June | 4:00pm to 5:00pm JST
BEIJING: Tuesday, 30 June | 3:00pm to 4:00pm CST
JAKARTA: Tuesday, 30 June | 2:00pm to 3:00am WIB
TEL AVIV: Tuesday, 30 June | 10:00am to 11:00am IDT
LONDON: Tuesday, 30 June | 8:00am to 9:00am BST
NEW YORK: Tuesday, 30 June | 3:00am to 4:00am EDT 
 

Event Image

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org