WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

The United Arab Emirates has built an increasingly high profile in regional affairs in recent years. Long known for its resource riches and welcoming attitude towards Western expatriates, it has developed and diversified its domestic economy at great speed, and deployed its armed forces on operations in Afghanistan, Yemen and in support of the anti–Islamic State coalition. It also has strong links with Australia, hosting the largest overseas concentration of ADF assets, as well as nearly 20,000 Australian expats, three Australian universities and two Australian international high schools. It is Australia’s main trading partner in the Middle East; more than 300 Australian companies operate there, and the UAE invests more than $11 billion in Australia.
 
Join Dr Rodger Shanahan, research fellow in the Lowy Institute’s West Asia program, for a discussion with Dr Anwar Gargash, the UAE’s Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, to explore the UAE’s view of the region and of its relationship with Australia.
 
Dr Anwar Gargash has a PhD from King’s College, Cambridge University and has served as a professor of politics, Chairman of the UAE National Election Committee and has been in board and executive positions at the Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Dr Rodger Shanahan is a former army officer and a frequent commentator on Middle East and terrorism issues for Australian and international media. He has appeared as an expert witness in numerous terrorism trials in Australia and is a part-time member on the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.


Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Thursday, 6 August | 5:00pm to 5:45pm AEST
TOKYO: Thursday, 6 August | 4:00pm to 4:45pm JST
BEIJING: Thursday, 6 August | 3:00pm to 3:45pm CST
DUBAI: Thursday, 6 August | 11:00am to 11:45am GST
TEL AVIV: Thursday, 6 August | 10:00am to 10:45am IDT
LONDON: Thursday, 6 August | 8:00am to 8:45am BST
NEW YORK: Thursday, 6 August | 3:00am to 3:45am EDT 

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org