WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

Live webcast via Zoom

  Ticket Prices

The biggest geopolitical rivalry of the 21st century has just been jolted into a new period of uncertainty and risk by the coronavirus pandemic. Join Australia’s leading authority on US foreign policy, Dr Michael Fullilove, and senior China analyst, Richard McGregor, as they examine the implications of this global health and economic emergency for the most important international relationship of our time. Lowy Institute Director of Research Alex Oliver will chair this first-ever Lowy Institute Live Event, which will be live-streamed and include audience questions.
 
Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on Australian and US foreign policy in publications including The New York Times, Financial Times, The Atlantic and Foreign Affairs, as well as the Australian press. Dr Fullilove is the author of Rendezvous with Destiny: How Franklin D. Roosevelt and Five Extraordinary Men Took America into the War and into the World (Penguin). 

Richard McGregor is a Senior Fellow at the Lowy Institute and an award-winning journalist and author with unrivalled experience reporting on the top-level politics and economics of east Asia, primarily China and Japan. He was the Financial Times bureau chief in Beijing and Shanghai between 2000 and 2009, and headed its Washington office for four years from 2011.

Alex Oliver is the Director of Research at the Lowy Institute, where she is responsible for the Institute's team of experts and directs the research program. Until 2018, she directed the Lowy Institute's program on diplomacy and public opinion, including the annual Lowy Institute Poll. 

Registration is essential: please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Wednesday, 8 April 2020 | 11:00am to 12:00pm AEST
NEW YORK: Tuesday, 7 April 2020 | 9:00pm to 10:00pm EDT 
BEIJING: Wednesday, 8 April 2020 | 9:00am to 10:00am CST
LONDON: Wednesday, 8 April 2020 | 2:00am to 3:00am BST
TOKYO: Wednesday, 8 April 2020 | 10:00am to 11:00am JST
 
All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Event Image

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org