WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.


Across the Pacific, economies are being devastated by the lockdowns necessary to keep the COVID-19 pandemic at bay. The threads connecting Pacific economies to the outside world – tourism, migration, remittances, investment and trade – are fraying. Double-figure economic contractions are expected in most Pacific nations, with formal employment collapsing. It will be many years before Pacific economies recover to their 2019 levels.
 
Pacific governments are not sitting idle, using every available resource to stimulate their economies. Foreign aid, valued at more than US $2 billion and constituting 6% of regional GDP, is playing a critical role.
 
As the Lowy Institute releases the second annual update of its Pacific Aid Map, an analytical tool that collates and analyses data on all aid projects in the Pacific, join us to hear from regional experts and development partners about how the COVID-19 crisis is playing out in the Pacific.
 
Audrey Aumua is Deputy Director-General at the Pacific Community, a technical and scientific regional development organisation based in Noumea, New Caledonia.
 
Charlotte Blundell is Assistant Secretary for the Pacific Partnerships & Human Development Branch in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s Office of the Pacific. 
 
Alexandre Dayant is a Research Fellow in the Lowy Institute Pacific Islands Program, and lead researcher of the Pacific Aid Map.

Michel Kerf is the World Bank’s Country Director for Papua New Guinea and the Pacific Islands, based in Sydney, Australia. 
 
Jonathan Pryke is Director of the Lowy Institute Pacific Islands Program.


Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Thursday, 8 October | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEDT
WELLINGTON: Thursday, 8 October | 7:00pm to 8:00pm NZDT
SUVA: Thursday, 8 October | 6:00pm to 7:00pm FJT
PORT MORESBY: Thursday, 8 October | 4:00pm to 5:00pm PGT
BEIJING: Thursday, 8 October | 2:00pm to 3:00pm CST
LONDON: Thursday, 8 October | 7:00am to 8:00am BST
NEW YORK: Thursday, 8 October | 2:00am to 3:00am EDT 

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org