WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

Join us for the launch of the latest Lowy Institute Paper published by Penguin Random House Australia, Man of Contradictions: Joko Widodo and the Struggle to Remake Indonesia, the first English-language biography of Indonesian President Joko Widodo. Lowy Institute Executive Director Dr Michael Fullilove will speak with author Ben Bland about what makes the president tick, his struggle to implement reform and tackle the COVID-19 crisis, and why outsiders keep getting Jokowi – and Indonesia – wrong.

Ben Bland is the Director of the Southeast Asia Program at the Lowy Institute and an award-winning former correspondent for the Financial Times in Indonesia, China and Vietnam. His first book – Generation HK: Seeking Identity in China’s Shadow – was acclaimed for its prescient insights into the deepening political crisis in Hong Kong.

Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on Australian and US foreign policy in publications including The New York TimesFinancial TimesThe Atlantic and Foreign Affairs, as well as in the Australian press. Dr Fullilove is the author of Rendezvous with Destiny: How Franklin D. Roosevelt and Five Extraordinary Men Took America into the War and into the World (Penguin). 

Man of Contradictions is available for purchase from 1 September 2020 from all good bookstores, and as an e-book.

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Monday, 7 September | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEST
TOKYO: Monday, 7 September | 4:00pm to 5:00pm JST
BEIJING: Monday, 7 September | 3:00pm to 4:00pm CST
JAKARTA: Monday, 7 September | 2:00pm to 3:00pm WIB
TEL AVIV: Monday, 7 September | 10:00am to 11:00am IDT
LONDON: Monday, 7 September | 8:00am to 9:00am BST
NEW YORK: Monday, 7 September | 3:00am to 4:00am EDT 


All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org