WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

Join us for this conversation with one of America’s most experienced and influential military leaders. General James Mattis will talk with Michael Fullilove about serving as US Secretary of Defense, his career as a US Marine, and the security challenge America faces from a rising China. They will be joined by one of Australia’s most decorated military leaders, Sir Angus Houston.

General James Mattis is a retired United States Marine Corps General who served as the 26th US Secretary of Defense from January 2017 to December 2018. During his 44 years in the Marine Corps, he commanded forces in the Persian Gulf War, the War in Afghanistan, and the Iraq War. General Mattis is a Senior Counselor at The Cohen Group.
 
Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK, AFC (Retd) was awarded the Knight of the Order of Australia in January 2015 for extraordinary and pre-eminent achievement and merit in service to Australia. In July 2011, Sir Angus retired as Chief of the Australian Defence Force after 41 years of military service. Sir Angus is a Senior Counselor at The Cohen Group.
 
Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on Australian and US foreign policy in publications including The New York Times, Financial TimesThe AtlanticForeign Affairs and The Washington Post, as well as in the Australian press.  
 
Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Thursday 15 October | 10:00am to 11:00am AEDT
BEIJING: Thursday 15 October | 7:00am to 8:00am CST
TOKYO: Thursday 15 October | 8:00am to 9:00am JST
TEL AVIV: Thursday 15 October | 2:00am to 3:00am IDT
LONDON: Thursday 15 October | 12:00am to 1:00am BST
WASHINGTON: Wednesday 14 October | 7:00pm to 8:00pm EDT 
LOS ANGELES: Wednesday 14 October | 4:00pm to 5:00pm PDT 

 

This event is part of the Lowy Institute's 'Australia's Security and the Rules-Based Order Project' and is supported by the Department of Defence's Strategic Policy Grants Program.

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance. 

 

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org