WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

Live webcast via Zoom

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential: please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.


 
Please join us for a conversation with one of Europe’s most respected statesmen, former Swedish Prime Minister Carl Bildt.  
 
Hosted by Lowy Institute Executive Director Dr Michael Fullilove, this conversation will examine topics such as the state of the European Union after Brexit and COVID-19, Sweden’s controversial approach to controlling the pandemic, and the transatlantic alliance as America’s presidential election approaches and Angela Merkel’s term draws to a close.

Carl Bildt was Sweden’s foreign minister from 2006 to 2014 and prime minister from 1991 to 1994, when he negotiated Sweden’s EU accession. A renowned international diplomat, he served as EU Special Envoy to the Former Yugoslavia, High Representative for Bosnia and Herzegovina, UN Special Envoy to the Balkans, and Co-Chairman of the Dayton Peace Conference. He is Co-Chair of the European Council on Foreign Relations.

Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on Australian and US foreign policy in publications including The New York Times, Financial Times, The Atlantic, and Foreign Affairs, as well as in the Australian press. Dr Fullilove is the author of Rendezvous with Destiny: How Franklin D. Roosevelt and Five Extraordinary Men Took America into the War and into the World (Penguin). 

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Wednesday, 27 May | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEST
TOKYO: Wednesday, 27 May | 4:00pm to 5:00pm JST
BEIJING: Wednesday, 27 May | 3:00pm to 4:00pm CST
JAKARTA: Wednesday, 27 May | 2:00pm to 3:00pm WIB
TEL AVIV: Wednesday, 27 May | 10:00am to 11:00am IDT
LONDON: Wednesday, 27 May | 8:00am to 9:00am BST
NEW YORK: Tuesday, 26 May | 3:00am to 4:00am EDT 
 
 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Event Image

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org