WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.


Australia's relations with China seem to be reaching new lows each week, with a proliferation of disputes over everything from trade to the media to COVID-19 to universities. Join the ABC's Bill Birtles and the Australian Financial Review's Michael Smith, both recently advised by the Australian government to leave China, along with Kirsty Needham, formerly of the Sydney Morning Herald and now with Reuters, for a discussion of the bilateral relationship. The discussion will be moderated by the Lowy Institute's Senior Fellow for North Asia, Richard McGregor.

Bill Birtles was the ABC's China correspondent in Beijing from 2015. Prior to Beijing, he was based in Sydney for the ABC and also worked for the Asia Pacific News Centre in Melbourne, with a focus on China. He has previously studied Mandarin in Beijing and worked in Chinese television.

Kirsty Needham was a journalist with the Sydney Morning Herald for 23 years. She has twice been a Walkley Award finalist for her writing on China, where she was based for the Sydney Morning Herald and The Age from 2017. She now reports on Australia-China relations for Reuters, based in Sydney.
 
Michael Smith was the Australian Financial Review's China correspondent based in Shanghai from 2018. Originally from Tasmania, he has worked as a journalist for more than 20 years, for Reuters in Sydney and London, and for the Hong Kong Standard in the 1990s and earlier for the Hobart Mercury.

Richard McGregor is an award-winning journalist and author with unrivalled experience reporting on the top-level politics and economics of east Asia, primarily China and Japan. He was the Financial Times bureau chief in Beijing and Shanghai between 2000 and 2009, and headed its Washington office for four years from 2011.
 

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Thursday, 24 September | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEST
TOKYO: Thursday, 24 September | 4:00pm to 5:00pm JST
BEIJING: Thursday, 24 September | 3:00pm to 4:00pm CST
JAKARTA: Thursday, 24 September | 2:00pm to 3:00pm WIB
TEL AVIV: Thursday, 24 September | 10:00am to 11:00am IDT
LONDON: Thursday, 24 September | 8:00am to 9:00am BST
NEW YORK: Thursday, 24 September | 3:00am to 4:00am EDT 

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org