WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

Live webcast via Zoom

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential: please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

In the wake of the COVID-19 crisis, China is facing a sustained economic downturn for the first time in decades, a development with profound implications not just for Australia, but for global growth. Three eminent Chinese economists, Xu Xiaonian of the China Europe International Business School in Shanghai, Huang Yiping of Peking University and Dr Wang Jiao of the University of Melbourne will discuss the prospects for China’s economy and the debate inside the government on possible stimulus measures. The event will be hosted by Richard McGregor, a senior fellow at the Lowy Institute.  

Xu Xiaonian is Honorary Professor at the China Europe International Business School, where he served as Professor of Economics and Finance from 2004 to 2018. He worked for China International Capital Corporation Limited (CICC) as Managing Director and Head of Research. In 2002, the research team under Dr. Xu was ranked No. 1 among domestic brokerage firms by Chinese institutional investors. Xu obtained a PhD in Economics form University of California, Davis, in 1991, and MA in Industrial Economics in 1981 from People's University of China. He received the Sun Yefang Economics Prize in 1996, the highest Chinese award in the field, for his research on China’s capital markets. 

Huang Yiping is Jin Guang Chair Professor of Economics and Deputy Dean of the National School of Development (NSD) and Director of the Institute of Digital Finance (IDF), Peking University. He is a former member of the Monetary Policy Committee at the People's Bank of China during 2015-2018 and Research Fellow at the Finance Research Center of the Counselors’ Office of the State Council. Professor Huang received his Bachelor of Agricultural Economics from Zhejiang Agricultural University, Master of Economics from Renmin University of China and PhD in Economics from Australian National University. 

Dr Wang Jiao is Research Fellow at Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research in the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne. She obtained her Masters and PhD at the Australian National University. Her fields of research include monetary policy, macroprudential policy, capital controls, open economy macroeconomics and the Chinese economy. Dr Wang’s academic writing has been published at the Journal of Monetary Economics, Journal of International Economics, Journal of Money, Credit, and Banking.

Richard McGregor is an award-winning journalist and author with unrivalled experience reporting on the top-level politics and economics of east Asia, primarily China and Japan. He was the Financial Times bureau chief in Beijing and Shanghai between 2000 and 2009, and headed its Washington office for four years from 2011.

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Wednesday, 15 July | 1:00pm to 2:00pm AEST
TOKYO: Wednesday, 15 July | 12:00pm to 1:00pm JST
BEIJING: Wednesday, 15 July | 11:00am to 12:00pm CST
JAKARTA: Wednesday, 15 July | 10:00am to 11:00am WIB
TEL AVIV: Wednesday, 15 July | 6:00am to 7:00am IDT
LONDON: Wednesday, 15 July | 4:00am to 5:00am BST
NEW YORK: Tuesday, 14 July | 11:00pm to 12:00pm EDT 

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org