WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

Live webcast via Zoom

  Ticket Prices

China has expelled a record number of foreign journalists in recent months, mostly Americans, but also a number of Australians. Although the expulsions have been part of a tit-for-tat battle between Washington and Beijing over the status of journalists in both countries, they also reflect a tougher attitude to foreign criticism by Beijing, and a more uncompromising foreign policy generally.

Join Richard McGregor, Lowy Institute Senior Fellow and a former Beijing bureau chief for both The Australian and The Financial Times, for a discussion with Josh Chin, deputy China bureau chief (in exile) of the Wall Street Journal, Anna Fifield, Beijing bureau chief for The Washington Post, and Jane Perlez, Beijing bureau chief for The New York Times.

Richard McGregor is a Senior Fellow at the Lowy Institute and an award-winning journalist and author with extensive reporting experience on the politics and economics of east Asia, primarily China and Japan. He was the Financial Times bureau chief in Beijing and Shanghai between 2000 and 2009, and headed its Washington office for four years from 2011.

Josh Chin is the deputy China bureau chief (in exile) of the Wall Street Journal. He spent a total of 15 years covering China as a reporter in print and video. In 2017, he led an investigative team that won a Gerald Loeb Award for its reporting on the Communist Party's embrace of digital surveillance. He is writing a book on the same topic with his Journal colleague Liza Lin for St. Martin's Press, due out in 2021. 

Anna Fifield is the Beijing bureau chief for The Washington Post, covering all aspects of China. She was previously based in Tokyo for the Post, and in Washington, Beirut, Tehran and Seoul for the Financial Times before that. She is the author of the book The Great Successor: The Secret Rise and Rule of Kim Jong Un.

Jane Perlez is a long-time foreign correspondent for The New York Times, serving most recently as Beijing bureau chief in China where she wrote about China’s foreign policy and the competition between the United States and China, particularly in Asia. She has reported for the NYT from Kenya, Poland, Austria, Indonesia and Pakistan. She is currently working on a multi episode podcast about Richard Nixon’s trip to China.  

Registration is essential: please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Thursday, 30 April 2020 | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEST
NEW YORK: Thursday, 30 April 2020 | 3:00am to 4:00am EDT 
LONDON: Thursday, 30 April 2020 | 8:00am to 9:00am BST
TEL AVIV: Thursday, 30 April 2020 | 10:00am to 11:00am IDT
BEIJING: Thursday, 30 April 2020 | 3:00pm to 4:00pm CST
TOKYO: Thursday, 30 April 2020 | 4:00pm to 5:00pm JST
 
All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org