WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

 
Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

Since 2013, the annual Owen Harries Lecture has honoured the enormous contribution Mr Harries, who was a Nonresident Fellow at the Lowy Institute, made to the international policy debate in Australia and the US. This is the first such lecture since Mr Harries’ passing in June, and we are honoured that it will be delivered by Francis Fukuyama, one of the most influential political scientists of his generation.

Dr Fukuyama will join us via webcast from California. He will deliver a lecture, to be followed by a conversation with Lowy Institute Executive Director Michael Fullilove.

Dr Francis Fukuyama is a Senior Fellow at Stanford University's Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies. He has written widely on issues in development and international politics. His 1989 essay The End of History? was a global sensation. It was published in The National Interest, under then-editor Owen Harries.

Dr Michael Fullilove AM writes widely on Australian and US politics and foreign policy in publications including The New York Times, Financial Times, The Atlantic and Foreign Affairs, as well as in the Australian press. 


Webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Wednesday 18 November | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEDT
BEIJING: Wednesday 18 November | 2:00pm to 3:00pm CST
TOKYO: Wednesday 18 November | 3:00pm to 4:00pm JST
TEL AVIV: Wednesday 18 November | 8:00am to 9:00am IST
LONDON: Wednesday 18 November | 6:00am to 7:00am GMT

NEW YORK: Wednesday 18 November | 1:00am to 2:00am EST 
LOS ANGELES: Tuesday 17 November | 10:00pm to 11:00pm PST  

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org