WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

Live webcast via Zoom

  Ticket Prices

 

Registration is essential: please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 
Join us for a conversation with two long-serving and distinguished former Australian foreign ministers, Julie Bishop and Gareth Evans. They will discuss Australia’s response to COVID-19, relations with China, the government’s call for an international inquiry on the origins of the pandemic, the world order after COVID-19, and the future of international education in Australia. Hosted by Lowy Institute Executive Director Michael Fullilove, this Lowy Institute Live event will include questions from the audience.
 
Julie Bishop is the Chancellor of the Australian National University. She served as Australia's foreign minister from 2013 to 2018 and was deputy leader of the Liberal Party of Australia for 11 years from 2007 to 2018. In a political career spanning over 20 years, Julie also served as Minister for Education, Science and Training, Minister for Women's Issues and Minister for Ageing.

Gareth Evans AC QC is Distinguished Honorary Professor at the ANU, where he was Chancellor from 2010 to 2019. He was a cabinet minister in the Hawke and Keating Labor governments from 1983 to 1996 and served as foreign minister from 1988 to 1996. He was also president and CEO of the International Crisis Group from 2000 to 2009.

Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on global issues in publications including The New York Times, Financial Times and Foreign Affairs, as well as in the Australian press.


Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 5:00pm to 6:00pm AEST
TOKYO: Tuesday, 12 May | 4:00pm to 5:00pm JST
BEIJING: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 3:00pm to 4:00pm CST
JAKARTA: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 2:00pm to 3:00pm WIB
TEL AVIV: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 10:00am to 11:00am IDT
LONDON: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 8:00am to 9:00am BST
NEW YORK: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 | 3:00am to 4:00am EDT 
 


All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Event Image

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org