WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices


Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

The Lowy Institute is delighted to invite you to attend the virtual 2020 Lowy Lecture, to be delivered by Fareed Zakaria.

One of the world’s most interesting and influential observers of international affairs, Fareed Zakaria is the host of CNN’s weekly foreign affairs program Fareed Zakaria GPS. He is also a columnist for The Washington Post and a contributing editor at The Atlantic.
Dr Zakaria will evaluate the turbulent year in world politics marked by the COVID-19 pandemic, the growing rivalry between the US and China and the bitterly fought US election. The Lowy Lecture will be followed by an extended Q&A with Lowy Institute Executive Director Dr Michael Fullilove.

The annual Lowy Lecture is the Lowy Institute’s flagship event, at which a prominent speaker reflects on Australia and the world. Past Lecturers have included German Chancellor Angela Merkel, UK Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, former CIA Director David Petraeus, News Corp Chairman Rupert Murdoch, Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Lowy Institute Chairman Sir Frank Lowy and Prime Minister John Howard, who delivered the inaugural Lowy Lecture in 2005.
 
Fareed Zakaria hosts Fareed Zakaria GPS for CNN Worldwide, which earned a Peabody Award in 2011 and has received multiple Emmy nominations. He is also a columnist for The Washington Post and a contributing editor at The Atlantic. Dr Zakaria is the author of a number of New York Times bestselling books, the latest of which is Ten Lessons for a Post-Pandemic World. Previously, Zakaria was editor of Newsweek International, managing editor of Foreign Affairs, a columnist for Time and an analyst for ABC News.

Dr Michael Fullilove AM is the Executive Director of the Lowy Institute. He writes widely on Australian and US foreign policy in publications including The New York Times, Financial Times, The Atlantic and Foreign Affairs, as well as in the Australian press. Dr Fullilove is the author of several books including Rendezvous with Destiny: How Franklin D. Roosevelt and Five Extraordinary Men Took America into the War and into the World (Penguin). 

 

Presentation via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Thursday 26 November | 6:00pm AEDT
WELLINGTON: Thursday 26 November | 8:00pm NZDT
TOKYO: Thursday 26 November | 4:00pm JST
BEIJING: Thursday 26 November | 3:00pm CST
TEL AVIV: Thursday 26 November | 9:00am IST
LONDON: Thursday 26 November | 7:00am GMT
NEW YORK: Thursday 26 November | 2:00am EST 


The Lowy Institute is grateful for the support of the sponsors of the 2020 Lowy Lecture.

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org