WHEN

 
START:  - END: 

  WHERE

  Ticket Prices

Registration is essential. Please register here to receive your personal confirmation link.

 

For several decades, global wealth and power have been shifting eastwards. The Asian economy was poised to become larger by 2020 than the rest of the world’s economies combined. But a once-in-a-century pandemic has precipitated an abrupt turn of fortunes. Governments and societies, almost without exception, now face an onslaught of public health, economic and strategic challenges that few could have imagined a year prior. The world after the pandemic, in the words of the Australian government, has become “poorer, more dangerous and more disorderly”.
 
Power shifts happen only slowly outside of wartime. But the pandemic changes that calculation. The 2020 Asia Power Index reveals a race to the bottom where countries compete only by degrees of underperformance.

To mark the launch of the 2020 Asia Power Index, join us for a panel discussion with Joseph S. Nye Jr., Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor, Emeritus and former Dean of the Harvard Kennedy School of Government; Senator Penny Wong, Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and Leader of the Opposition in the Senate; Professor Yuen Foong Khong, Vice Dean at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy in Singapore; and Hervé Lemahieu, Director of the Lowy Institute’s Asian Power and Diplomacy Program. 

Live webcast via Zoom:
SYDNEY: Wednesday 21 October | 12:00pm to 1:00pm AEDT
BEIJING: Wednesday 21 October | 9:00am to 10:00am CST
TOKYO: Wednesday 21 October | 10:00am to 11:00am JST
TEL AVIV: Wednesday 21 October | 4:00am to 5:00am IDT
LONDON: Wednesday 21 October | 2:00am to 3:00am BST
NEW YORK: Tuesday 20 October | 9:00pm to 10:00pm EDT 

 

About the 2020 Asia Power Index: The annual Lowy Institute Asia Power Index evaluates 26 countries and territories across 128 indicators divided into eight thematic measures of power: military capability and defence networks, economic capabilities and relationships, diplomatic and cultural influence, as well as resilience and future resources. The 2020 edition — which encompasses three years of data — is the most comprehensive assessment of the changing distribution of power in Asia so far. Explore all the results on a specially designed digital platform, at power.lowyinstitute.org

 

All Lowy Institute public events are on the record and open for media attendance.

Contact Us

Lowy Institute
31 Bligh Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 8238 9000 
events@lowyinstitute.org